top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRashika Perera Gomez

I am a poet.

Updated: May 23, 2019

I am a closet poet. For years I have been scribbling poems on bits of paper, napkins, journals, and on my blog. I have finally embraced the label "author" as I venture excitedly into this new chapter of my life.


While I have sat comfortably with my other "labels" such as woman, daughter, mother, sister, friend, psychologist, and musician, it is through the writing of my poetry that I have taken ownership of the label that always existed, but was never fully acknowledged....that of "poet."


My life’s journey has taken her from Sri Lanka, the land of my birth, to the USA, the land of my education, to Australia, the land that is now my home. In my poems I weave together my life stories with the stories of those who have crossed my path on this journey between starkly different lands. I give voice to the sufferings and tribulations of the heartbroken and the victorious. I write from a position of strength and vulnerability, making my poems relatable to others' life journeys.



32 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page